SMHI since 1917

Saskatchewan Municipal Hail Insurance (SMHI) is a municipal organization, operated and controlled by Saskatchewan farmers. We’ve been governed by the Municipal Hail Insurance Act since its inception in 1917. For over 100 years, we’ve been insuring farmers with flexible coverage at affordable rates.


We are a proud supporter of STARS Air Ambulance and many other initiatives which support the farming community. We continue to support the next generation of smart minds through our Municipal Hail Insurance Scholarships awarded to five recipients each year.


We are administered by a Board of nine directors elected by the rural municipalities. Meet our Board members here.

History of Municipal Hail Insurance

Municipal Hail came into being on June 1, 1917 following a developmental period that began in 1903 when the North West Territories established a system of government hail insurance. At the time, all other organizations were prohibited from providing hail insurance. In 1905, Saskatchewan became a province and continued this system. By 1908, extreme losses had been suffered and the Act was repealed.

Farmers were unhappy with this move and through the Saskatchewan Grain Growers' Association, pressed for another public hail insurance plan to be established. A system of municipal hail insurance was proposed and was incorporated into an act in 1912. Following a period of revisions and adjustments due to an extremely heavy loss by hail in 1916, the new Municipal Hail Insurance Act came into force in 1917. This Act welded rural municipalities into an organization of their own, giving them powers to operate their own hail insurance business, known as the Saskatchewan Municipal Hail Insurance Association (SMHI).

At the Muncipal Hail Annual General Meeting (AGM) in March, 1924, it was proposed that a limited company be organized that would be a wholly owned subsidiary of the Association.

The subsidiary would write an extra or 'additional' amount of hail insurance for those farmers desiring more limit than is available through SMHI. This was put to a vote and was approved by the delegates attending the AGM and on March 25th, 1924, Additional Municipal Hail Limited (AMHL) was brought into being. AMHL continues to provide 'additional' coverage to landowners and tenants.

In March, 2014, at the 97th Municipal Hail AGM, it was proposed that the Association be permitted to own a second limited company. This company would provide, to farmers, the convenience of purchasing hail insurance coverage direct. This was put to a vote and was approved by the delegates, bringing Prairie Municipal Hail Limited (PMHL) into being.

The Association and its subsidiaries continue to operate today with the same principles on which they were founded.


"We would like to thank the RMs and their Administrators for their continued support and willing assistance in delivering the Municipal Hail Insurance programs to producers and to our field and office staff for their efficient and dedicated service in 2019."

- Wayne Black, President

Meet our Board

(Back Row, L-R): Arnold Boyko, Rodney Schoettler, Maurice Berry, Pauline Ziehl Grimsrud

(Front Row, L-R): Blair Cummins, Ken McBride, Wayne Black, Murray Purcell, Foster Warriner

(Not pictured): John Wagner


President: Wayne Black

Vice-President: Ken McBride

Member of Executive Committee: Foster Warriner

Chief Executive Officer: Rodney Schoettler

Election dates

Elected until 2021:

Maurice Berry, Carievale

Wayne Black, Tisdale

Blair Cummins, Blucher

Elected until 2022:

John Wagner, Maple Creek

Foster Warriner, Alameda

Pauline Ziehl Grimsrud, Torquay

Elected until 2023:

Jason Friesen, Watson

Ken McBride, Kindersley

Murray Purcell, Saskatoon

Annual Reports

Annual Report

View Now

Annual Report

View Now

Annual Report

View Now

Annual Report

View Now

Annual Report

View Now